Winter break

Winter break has come and gone! I really enjoyed my 3 weeks off school. I spent the days leading up to Christmas day with in Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario with my loving relatives.

IMG_20161225_231313.jpg

When I returned to Ottawa, I moved out of my apartment in Vanier and moved into a suite in the bed and breakfast I work at in Sandy hill! Even more exciting, New Year’s Eve in Ottawa was the kickoff of #Ottawa2017. I got to see the torch lighting, flagbearers and fireworks from the very front row at Parliament Hill. It was the best new year’s eve I’ve ever had.

IMG-20170102-WA0009.jpg
New Year’s Eve from the front row of the show at Parliament Hill

 

I also visited Montreal over the break. I’m starting to get very comfortable with taking rideshares, staying at Airbnbs, and going on very spontaneous adventures. We took a 2-hour speed tour around the city in a Benz, hitting up Mont Royal Plateau, Saint Viateur bagel cafe, Saint Joseph Oratory, Mt. Royal, Vieux Montreal, the Biodome and Notre-Dame Basilica.

img_20170104_161220
The view from the top of Mont Royal
IMG-20170106-WA0034.jpg
Backpacking through the Montreal Biodome

Unfortunately all great things come to an end, and I am back on the grind of school every weekday and work every weekend. Though I already feel like this is going to be a very long semester, I am sure it will be over in a blink.

January 16th, 2017

Leave a Reply

